CIS countries

Russia sees no reason to hinder Armenia’s contacts with Karabakh

16:26, 18 January 2021 22
Photo: Sergey Lantyukhov/

Everyone agrees that there should be a connection between the Armenians of Armenia and the Armenians of Nagorno-Karabakh, and there is no reason why contacts at this level should be discouraged, Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov said, TASS reports.

He stressed that everyone agrees on the need to establish a connection between ethnic Armenians, and there is no reason to hinder this relationship. However, at the same time, Yerevan makes politicized statements in Karabakh. This is most likely causing the tension, Lavrov said, noting that this would be better avoided.

We have already witnessed how emotional statements made from Karabakh or about Karabakh, how a word becomes a material force, in this case, words from different sides have become a very negative material force, he added.

The armed conflict in Nagorno-Karabakh between Azerbaijan and Armenia resumed on September 27. Baku launched a counter-offensive operation that lasted six weeks. On the night of November 10, Aliyev, Putin and Pashinyan signed a joint statement on the conditions for ending the armed conflict. Under the terms of the document, the two armies remained in their places. Russia deployed its peacekeepers to the region to monitor compliance with the ceasefire.

On January 11, Putin, Aliyev, and Pashinyan held a meeting in Moscow, and the politicians discussed a peace agreement on Nagorno-Karabakh. During the dialogue, Putin expressed confidence that the implementation of the Karabakh agreement in Moscow would benefit the Armenian and Azerbaijani peoples, the region as a whole, and therefore Russia’s interests. The Russian leader also said that the terms of the peace agreement on Nagorno-Karabakh are being respected, and there are currently no serious incidents. He expressed his satisfaction that the bloodshed was stopped. reported earlier that Putin wanted to discuss the meeting on Karabakh with Security Council members.